Why I Love to Run

why I love to run

 

As I have mentioned before, I have a love/hate relationship with running. It has been a life changing hobby to take on but also one that hasn’t always been easy on me. That being said, I often find that what motivates me the most to get off the couch is to remind myself why I love to run. And, what better way to do that than by sharing those reasons on my blog, perhaps you can also relate and take some inspiration to get up and run!

1. The Sweat

Yes I know that the sweat might seem like a weird reason to love running, but just give this to me. Running is one the sweatiest workouts I have ever done. Nothing makes me sweat more than a really long run on a sunny day. Heck, nothing makes me sweat more than a long run in the freezing cold of January! Even though it might be gross and sticky and I smell, I feel very accomplished when I am covered in sweat. I know I have worked hard and that I have worked my body. That makes me feel happy and love the run.

2. Discovering New Places

I am very much directional challenged. I had to call friends to direct me around my home town when I was out driving, for years, after I got my licence. I also lived out in the country for most of my life, making it very rare to see me walking around the city as a teenager. I was always driven around or had a car. Because of this, I did not know of the many trails and paths and side streets of my home town until I started to run. Running has made me familiar with my surroundings and helped me to discover some of my favorite places.

3. Racing

While trudging along on training runs can be boring and discouraging, there’s nothing greater than race day. I love the people, the fun, the medal! I also love the chance to get a photo-op and make some new memories. Racing is where you cement your running accomplishment and all your hard work pays off. Getting there might not always be awesome but remembering how race day feels, pushes me to keep going.

4. My Body

I would argue that running has not completely changed my body. Perhaps this is part of my beef with running. When I hear about people losing tons of weight when they start running, or getting a flat stomach and toned strong legs it buts me. I am of course happy for them and inspired to keep running in hope to see the same results. On the other hand I have not had the same results. This can be very discouraging but when I find myself getting down on myself I have to remind myself of the good running has don for my body. I now understand what my body can handle. I know how hard it can be pushed. I can feel how much stronger I am, I do have a flatter stomach and I know that I breath easier and have lowered my resting heart rate. All of these things are amazing positives and I need to hold on to them through the hard times.

5. New Friends

I have joined a new community as a runner. I have met tons of people through the Running Room and through races. This has lead to numerous new friendships. I have also found that running has brought me closer to people that we already in my life as well as people I have met recently. Getting out of your house and getting involved is always a great way to meet people and running has definitely helped me with that.

6. Warm Fuzzy Feelings

Call it endorphin’s, call it being a happier person, call it what you will but running makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside. A good run makes you feel awesome afterwards. I can’t say this about every run but there is a runner’s  high that goes on every once in a while and it makes every hard run worth it. The warm fuzzy feeling is what keeps me coming back for more.

Leave a comment