Friday Favourites: DIY Projects

Happy Friday! This week I want to share some of my favourite DIY projects. These are things I have created for our apartment. I love to create my own decor and personalize my space with things that I love and I’ve created. It makes me feel extra proud of my home and also makes me feel good when I walk in the door. Plus I always get tons of complements from visitors that are impressed when something wasn’t store bought.

DAY SPA1. The Josh and Julie Board

This is the first DIY project Josh and I worked on together. We made it two years ago on Super Bowl Sunday. We weren’t living together yet but Josh had his own apartment and I was staying there a lot. I was spending a snowy Super Bowl Sunday with him and wanted to do a project. This board took WAY longer than we expected. We printed out all of the phrases onto label paper in different fonts. We then had to cut them out for a horrifically long period of time. Seriously, I think Josh contemplated braking up with me over the tedious cutting.

After we had decided on the phrases, chosen fonts and cut them out of the label paper I painted the canvas a light cream colour. Then I spent a good hour laying them out and deciding on placement. I had to peel the backing off of the label paper and stick each individual letter on the canvas. I then painted the whole thing blue and peeled off the letter. It took ALL day. We started in the morning and I missed the football game because I was still working.

Josh and Julie Board 2

I love the words and phrases we chose for this board. They are all important to us. This hangs in our bedroom and it makes me smile when I look at it. Not only because I think its beautiful but also because I remember us fighting over the ridiculous cutting and placement of each word and the crazy amount of time we dedicated to this project.

2. The Minature Owl Vases

candle votice 2

This is a more recent DIY. I did in the summer time. You can read about these little owl vases here. I love them. They are a wonderful example of taking something that was not-so-pretty and creating something new. These still don’t have a permanent home in our apartment. I am still trying to decide where I want them to be and what to put in them. Maybe I will even give them as a gift.

3. The Bird Art

Bird Pictures 2

When we moved into our first apartment it had grey walls and carpet. I was (and still am) pretty obsessed with the grey and yellow combination. Yellow is my favorite colour. We had very little furniture let alone pictures for the walls and hardly any money. I wanted to make something to go over our TV and went to Pinterest. I accidentally started our bird theme by choosing these bird canvases as our project.

I painted these two pieces of canvas grey and then hand painted the branches in brown. Talk about stressful, I am no artist. I think they turned out pretty good. I printed outlines of birds of different sizes and leaves from the internet. We traced them onto scrap book paper and decoupaged them onto the canvas. I love how they turned out. We get lots of complements on them and people always ask where we bought them.

4. My Beautiful Message Boards

I love my new message boards. You might have seen my How-To post earlier this week. If you haven’t you can read about my message boards here. This is my favourite DIY project ever! I am still smiling about them.

magnet board

We are already putting these beauties to good use. Josh has his assignments written on the dry erase board and I have put up some wedding venue information I need to later on the magnet board. Does anyone know if you can get metallic dry-erase markers? I would really love a gold marker for our board.

I love creating things for my home. DIY’s are so much fun and help me make my space beautiful and personal with less money. Its really a win win for everyone! I am sure these are not the last things I create. With Christmas right around the corner its time to get crafty.

Make sure you visit Heather at Housewife Glamour and check out the other Friday Favorites posts!

Housewife Glamour